UK’s most romantic places – going behind the scenes of researching a feature


Just to note that the first of my two Valentine’s features is now up at Allaboutyou.com – click to see ‘The most romantic places in the UK.’

I am half way through a blog post lifting the veil on how I researched these ‘top ten’ features – basically an experimental Google Docs/Twitter/Travmedia mashup. I’m hoping to have it up in the next couple of days so if you’re interested in seeing how a travel journalist collects material, check back or subscribe to the RSS feed for this blog.

Transparency is good so I’m also thinking of publishing the 98 PR suggestions that came in, so that if you’re not happy with my subjective selection, you can choose for yourself.

After all, Valentine’s Day is a-coming.

4 responses to “UK’s most romantic places – going behind the scenes of researching a feature

  1. in terms of travel research, is the george harrison lyric, “arrive without travelling” (from “within you, without you”), true? and if so, is transcendental meditation a business opportunity for Virgin? if not, does Norwich really exist?

  2. I’m truly serious on the subject of Norwich. Migrating soon, of course I will notify “all” in the appropriate places/spaces.

  3. Best of Luch Pablo 🙂