Pimp my travel diary


Who knows where the urge to pimp, personalise and customise comes from, but I’ve been covering my stuff in stickers ever since we were allowed a tiny bit of personality in our ‘Friday songbooks’ at school, a place where everything else was rigidly beset by rules.

The songbook…

Songbook stickers

I’ve also got a penchant for a certain type of notebook so, after buying in bulk, stickering is also a handy way to distinguish between them. Different countries, different stickers…

Sri Lanka…

Travel diary stickers

Thailand…

Travel diary stickers

Australia…

Travel diary stickers

Then there were the books where I just couldn’t stop. Often because I’d found a bumper crop of stickers in some shop or other, or because I had some PVA glue to hand…

Diary stickers

Or how about this one, featuring my favourite characters from Calamity Jane…

Travel diary stickers

Even the spines didn’t escape. Here’s Andy Warhol and a black-toothed Rolf Harris sharing space…

Diary stickers

Sometimes I only had shiny sticky stuff and a pair of scissors to play with. The glue set in nice swirly patterns…

Travel diary stickers

And when I ran out of diary, I started on my other travel items…

Guitar stickers

My business tackle, too…

Mac laptop stickers

Then there’s all the postcards and stuff I’ve collected from here and there. That’s now getting framed for the home environment. Not quite stickering but scrapbooking of sorts…

Collage montage

Do you pimp your travel stuff, especially your travel diary? Would love it if you shared a link to a picture of them in the comments below.

One response to “Pimp my travel diary

  1. Oh, Rolf Harris. I was trying to work out why you’d want a happy Gerry Adams on your book.