Trip notes: Auberge d’Aijean, Cantal


Here is my room:

Auberge d'Aijean-1

And here is the view from my window, with the snowy Puy Mary peak far right:

Auberge d'Aijean-2

See that mountain opposite? I walked up along that, I did.

Auberge d’Aijean is run by Bruno and Valerie, who are natives of Cantal. They’ve been here for six years; Aijean is a portmanteau word formed from the names of their two children.

Pounti (below) is a speciality of chef Bruno – originally a peasant dish, it looks like green French toast, thanks to the addition of chard leaf. Soft, sweet and salty, fried up with prunes and served with leafy salad.

Pounti-1

The auberge is made of stone and has a very solid feel about it with solid wood and tiled floors, antique furniture, giant armoires, small bureaux, but with modern comforts. If hipsters did rustic country chic… As someone pointed out on Twitter, if I am staying at an auberge, does that make me an aubergine? Punning in French! I like it.

The first thing that hits on entering is the smoky, woody smell of burning logs. Listening to French jazz by the big inglenook fireplace with a crackling fire, a six-ft high pile of wood logs, espresso and home-baked almond-topped muffin; looking at the sleeping volcanoes all around.

Best news for me is that there is wifi. Tip for English speakers: ask for weefee. ‘Password’ in French is: Code. So, here is my new blogging office…

Auberge d'Aijean-3

And here is my window on the world for the next two days…

Auberge d'Aijean-4

Pretty nice, eh?

Website: Auberge d’Aijean

One response to “Trip notes: Auberge d’Aijean, Cantal

  1. Pingback: Around the Cantal in 10 dishes | Tourist Vs Traveller